“MERRY CHRISTMAS, GOD”

This morning, I awoke and remember saying “Merry Christmas, God!”.

Now, I have given a morning-greeting many times to God, but this
utterance was different and the surprise welled-up within me.

Can God help me formulate at times? Sure. I thought of how, only a few
times, I did pray for any ideas for the blog in whatever-form an inspiration may come. I think it grand whenever a topic arrives uniquely/unexpectedly.


So … what do you think of the “happy holidays” moniker?

People say it to include the New Years Eve, along with every
other recognition of holiday in the months of December/January.
{I wonder right now if anybody says it even before November’s
Thanksgiving; I think that would not be common and seem ‘off’}

Lumped together in that way, I can understand the “happy holidays”
usage … but it is not something I employ. It is not like I prepared to not
use it, just that it never became a standard for me. I have no need to say
it; the day of 25th December will still be called Christmas even if another dislikes that {and maybe uses the limiting/disrespectful “X-mas”}.


Yes, I wonder if something ridiculous will happen someday with
the removal of the name and a lumping of Christmas and Hannukah
{etc} to become a new and ‘unoffensive’ “Happy Holidays” holiday.

On the upcoming exact day of 25th December, would you say “Merry Christmas”? If you do not, why feel uncomfortable even on that date?

In this area, I ignore that limiting “politically-correct” stuff. A mention of the collective holidays or the individual Christmas is doing nothing harmful to you or anybody. Too-many people are ridiculously sensitive and just wanting to be doing perfect always in everything. I was like this and have been learning to outgrow that restriction in my life.

free counter

Copyright © 2019 Dee Essem/MIND MADE UP

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

PATIENT … NOT “CONSUMER”

It is one of the, what I believe, most-ignorant words from many of the “mental health” workers: consumer I heard it so much at the day-program{s} and read of it, too. Everyone under any supposed-care is fully a person — and a patient. Is... Continue →