SELFIES AND “SMART” PHONES IN THE SYSTEM

More than not, people in public enjoy using their “smart”
phones just so others can see. At least, that is how I view it.

Most would not want to admit, but there is always a bit of
desire to be showy and fit-in with those who use them.

Ever hop on a bus and notice how many are on the gadgets and
not just in the moment? I wonder if they feel relaxed while texting
an individual or a “social” website that “This is me on the bus texting!”
{hopefully, it would at least have more purpose than that}.

Why are people on the phones in the supermarket so much {for example}?
Here, I am not referring to noticing texters, but those talking to someone. I wonder how many are actually doing it because they realized little Tommy might want something specific for dinner. If that is a main reason, why are there so many that do not find that out before they even are in the store?


Is nothing more important than impressing strangers, who are not
even saying a word, whom you have to only imagine are impressed?

They are not impressed.
You are not doing anything incredible.

It is human nature. Just like with flashy cars, we want to
present them to make us feel like we are more important.
We bought these things; let us make sure strangers see.

Folks are either feeling good that they can do the same as
everyone with a “smart” phone … bad if they do not even have
one … or rarely – like myself – not caring to have one and the
accompanying loss of quality-time physically being taken by it.


Things were not different at the “behavioural health” location.

Many patients were using their phones during the day.
They felt connected, but were disconnecting more from life.

They were likely feeling obligated to enjoy the ‘interaction’ with text.
There is not a need, but an excitement from the texting process
that keeps people doing it exorbitantly. It makes one happy and
sometimes safer than actually talking physically. After all, you can
retype any mistaken digital characters before you ‘speak’ them.


From 2015, I can remember a female patient next to me who was
texting another … a someone that was on the other side of the room!

Well, at least she did not get up and sit with the person so that
what was being typed could be seen before it was even sent. LOL

It was “funny”, too, that we were in a “Let’s Talk About It” group and
speaking about how disconnected people can be using the phones.

Did the texter remove herself from the world a bit? Sure, yet I approve
in this instance since removing yourself a bit from the world of psychiatry
at any time can possibly be a good step forward.


Of course, I think that most of the phones the patients
had were freebies from the American government
{which some have coined “ObamaPhones”}.

Why would the government even care about giving people a phone?
Perhaps it is not just because they are concerned about those who are
“mentally ill” or elderly. Would you take one simply because the
government was supplying it? Free is not always best.


Someone showed me one of the contracts.
Is the following something that you would not mind?

“I authorize SafeLink Wireless or its duly appointed representative to (1) use and disclose my Protected Health Information (PHI) to confirm my initial and ongoing eligibility for Lifeline assistance; (2) access my records required to verify my statements herein; (3) update my address to a proper mailing address format; (4) provide my name, telephone number, and address to the Universal Service Administrative Company (USAC) (the administrator of the program) and its agents for the purpose of verifying that I do not receive more than one Lifeline benefit; and (5) authorize social service agency representatives to discuss with and/or provide information to SafeLink Wireless verifying my participation in benefit programs that qualify
me for Lifeline assistance.”

Also…

PHI.jpg

No thanks. I like to be a guardian of my information {especially
when that would include the balderdash created by a psychiatrist}.


I felt they needed to create rules for cellphone users in the place.

I remember one dude in the same-named group, but on a different day,
was taking a selfie that got me in it. The caseworker knew, yet said nothing about it until I spoke afterwards. I was told it is not allowed and that the
person would be spoken to.

There was no written command on the premises concerning the act. Was anything done? Just like with my request of limiting people’s habit of smoking, I imagine not. The psychiatry system approves of the use of certain things that help keep the “mentally ill” happier and more receptive to itself.


“Smart” phones? They are not unique any longer. Nobody is cool
or to be admired more because they have a so-called “smart” device.

Could you live with just a phone for texting and talking?
How much do you feel you need your electronics?

Of course, everybody uses distractions. People watch TV a lot, for
example, to escape from the messiness in life. Everyone likes to live
apart the problems and escape to imagination and a fantasy world.

Ask yourself how many of your distractions involve
any activity beyond watching any type of electronic item.


I wonder how many times people almost bumped into me on the
sidewalk because they are focused on a tiny screen instead of
the large world.

Sometimes, to see what happens, I continue walking and find out if
they will move in time. I have gotten dirty looks when we get really close,
like I should be the one who needs to be more aware.

Except for the people doing the same, we are aware of the bad habit. I
compare what some do to someone who rides a bike while just looking up
to the sky. Of course, I would move out of the way of a person on a bike acting that stupidly, and I do not think anybody riding a bike would look up more than forward, but you know where I am coming from. Neither are doing something safe and both seem to not know better.

C'mon, folks! If you just gotta text, at least you can
stand still in a safe spot which is out of the way of others.


I approve of my increasingly minimalist lifestyle.
It is good to have a more-focused and safer living.

Here I am: pleased to not have a “smart” phone and
smart to not be influenced by the psych business any longer.

free counter

Copyright © 2016 Dee Essem/MIND MADE UP

UPDATE: 12th-13th August, 2018; just a few grammar-corrections

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

INDEPENDENCE DAY 2018

“Undermining the Values Of Democracy” {an excerpt from the above link}: “Psychiatry is evil because it makes alienable, or voidable, human rights that the USAs Declaration Of Independence says are the God-given and unalienable rights of... Continue →