OVERCOMER

It is from 2013, but I heard only-recently this song
called Overcomer from someone known as “Mandisa”.

Catchy.
Decent.
Yet a bit ‘off’, to me, in some lyrics.


{chorus}

you’re an overcomer
stay in the fight until the final round

you’re not going under
‘cause God is holding you right now

you might be down for a moment
feeling like it’s hopeless
that’s when He reminds You
that you’re an overcomer …
you’re an overcomer!


Sure, it is fine to be strong-willed and want to overcome a trial …
but you are not a success until you are and something is overcome.

I am AWOL from psychiatry and, thus, overcame it being a part of a
negative in life. I deleted my unhelpful-lingering in a sad and maddening
environment {along with the anticonvulsant drugs from neurology that made me an addict with slower-cognition}. As for the collection of disappointments which all-such situations/chemicals caused, I still am
in the process of overcoming the grief and learning to live.


I believe that miracles do happen and God can heal anybody’s body
and in any timing. If it does not happen for someone, they can still be an
overcomer by not-giving into the super-sadness {which could culminate
with suicide, for example}.

Everyone’s body is weak because … that is how bodies are.
Anybody could be blinded in a moment or burned terribly.
It is not helpful to think we will absolutely overcome physical
maladies always. I still have one … did every day of life {even when
I did not know it} … and am still here. It is not overcome.

All humans are decaying daily; it is gross, but true, to think of the multiple
skin-particles in your bed that you lose all the time. No human-bodies are strong just because they can physically have “muscles” {for example}.

I told a friend a couple years ago my idea of how it seems like it would
be cruel of God to allow us to live forever in the condition these bodies
are, constantly weakening, and also on a planet where humans are cruel
to other humans so-often.

She found that idea good and different.
Would you think about that as well?


anybody living on the world as it is:
troubles are going to abound for them

Jesus is noted in John 16:33 as mentioning
“In this world you will have trouble.
But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

https://www.desiringgod.org/articles/jesus-has-overcome-the-world

Calling myself a Christian, desiring to put God/Jesus before all,
I still do not succeed all the time because I am imperfect.
God is not causing everyone to become folks’ definition of a success;
not all are physically-flawless, either, of course. I think that those in
America, particularly, grow-up to think they are actually entitled to perfection and all things because others around think so.


Relating to sin and death, they have no power because
of what was done already for you and me, not by us.

John 19:30 {International Standard Version}: “After Jesus had
taken the wine, he said, ‘It is finished.’ Then he bowed his
head and released his spirit.”

He completed.
We have an ultimate overcomer.


Now, in 1st John 4:4, we have: “You have overcome …
because greater is he that is in you, than he that is in the world.”

So, when the Christ is a part of your living, you actually have overcome
in the context of what the man Jesus already abolished: sin and death.
Inviting Him in to be your Lord makes you participate in being an overcomer concerning sin and death. It is not by anything you did in a past accomplishment that had power, but is from an acceptance. I am not
a deluded braggard and can never claim that I “made it” to God’s favour using my techniques or being “good” … and I am thankful for that.


back to the song: looking at reviews, I found …

REV.jpg

I agree with that, thus did not create a review on the Amazon website.

Well, at least I found one out there who had a similar take on the song.
I like to think that there are others who similarly did not make a review
because the idea was already out there.


Remember, just like with psychiatry’s labeling, popularity
of something does not mean it is accurate/helpful for all.

I am an overcomer of psychiatry because it is history … and
I am not {even though their interference got me to the brink}.

free counter

Copyright © 2020 Dee Essem/MIND MADE UP

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

HOW I KNOW I DO NOT HAVE TO TAKE “MEDS”

I hate “meds”. Not just the chemicals, but the term. At the “behavioural health” location I suffered in until spring of 2016, I would hear that abbreviation a lot. “Noon meds!” {or “12 o'clock meds!”} you would detect many a caseworker... Continue →